Livin' in the Kitchen

Monday Muffins and Veggies

In Muffins, Veggies on January 18, 2011 at 4:14 am

I’m not sure if it was after-finals-shock-syndrome.  Possibly it was the four-day-break from school with absolutely no homework for the first time since school started. Or maybe, I was just a little high on life…

Today, after jogging two miles and shaving 1:10 off my usual mile time on each, I was sure I was on the verge of death. I might have considered writing a will had I not been so fascinated by the feel of every vein pumping blood through my body. I was pooped. That’s right. I said pooped on a food blog. And that’s what I was. Too pooped to stretch, too pooped to walk a little more to get my heart rate back to normal, too pooped to close the windows.

Somewhere between my close trip from the treadmill to my floor, I realized that my room was filling with the blizzard outside. But I didn’t feel the harsh affects of the cold, just the refreshing hug of the wind and sprinkle of the flakes. I don’t know how to explain it, but apparently my mind wasn’t too pooped to think because I realized a lot in those ten minutes:
-I was really happy about my decision to run a 10K, despite my current condition
-Cooking some healthier stuff was a long time coming, even if I still cry when I cut onions.
-I was going to write a book, edit it, and think about publishing
-I’d start trying out my own recipes, completely, and make a cookbook (or a bakebook, whichever floats my boat)
-Life’s too short to dwell on things that aren’t important
-I’m gonna enjoy the snow while it’s here because I’m gonna miss it when it’s gone
-Finally, I’ve been trying to figure out the future, and the best way to achieve it. I’m a freshman. Things will work themselves out. Lists aren’t my thing anyway. I loose them.

It was an awesome day… I also cooked, like, a lot. Today was my, stock-up-on-a-bunch-of-healthy-freezable-lunches Monday. But, I decided to post just two of my favorite things.
Numero Uno is a Veggie dish. I could eat these all day long. Since they’re healthy, I did! Introducing, Honey Roasted Root Vegetables.

Honey-Roasted Root Vegetables

Adapted from Cooking Light

6 peeled big carrots
3 peeled sweet potatoes
3 shallots
1/4 cup honey
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon salt

First: Peel all the veggies (pictured above), cut them all into chunks, and put them in a bowl.

Second: Add your honey, olive oil, and salt. Stir, then transfer to your cooking dish.

Third: Pop it in the oven at 450F for 35 minutes. Stir them every 15 to get the best flavor, and try not to spill them all over your oven when you’re trying to return it to the baking shelf… Your mom will make you clean up the oven. Been there. Done that.

Fourth: ENJOY! I swear, you’re going to eat these like you eat potato chips, they’re addicting!

Later in the afternoon, after my jog, was when I made the shift into the baking portion of my day. For a while I struggled with what muffins I should make for my mornings. I wanted something healthy and preferably with peanut butter- for whatever reason, when I jog a lot, that’s all I crave. Finally I put the cookbooks down, and that’s when I hit the second most inspiring part of my day. I was going to make something up. It didn’t matter what. I could be anything I wanted it to be! And that is what it was.

I’m posting this mostly for myself, but feel free to try them! Making them was very trial and error- something you’ll see in the recipe! The end product was actually really moist, and if you like peanut butter, they were delicious! And if you’re allergic to peanut butter, beware!

Extra Peanut Butter-y Morning Muffins

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
3/4 oats plus three more handfuls
1 teaspoon cinnamon
3/4 plus 4 tablespoons Motts cinnamon applesauce
2/3 brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 2/3 cups of peanut butter
2 tablespoons greek-style yogurt
A splash, more than a teaspoon, of vanilla extract
3 eggs
1/4 cup of milk
3/4 cup white chocolate chips

Preheat 350F
Mix in a heavy-duty mixer: the whole wheat, oats, peanut butter, vanilla extract, applesauce, brown sugar, cinnamon, and 2 teaspoons of baking powder together.
Add eggs, one at a time.
Add milk, beat until incorporated
Add the Greek-style yogurt
Stir white chocolate chips in by hand
Use an ice cream scooper to scoop eat into muffin tins, fill to the top
Bake 17 minutes, don’t overcook!!

Can’t wait til’ breakfast!

  1. I LOVE sweet potatoes and those honey roasted root veggies look incredible! Congratulations on shaving 1:10 off each mile…that’s awesome! I am training for my third mini marathon in May and I am planning on shaving 10 minutes off my total time. Good luck with your training for the 10K, you will have to keep us updated! :) Those muffins look delicious too! And luckily I am not allergic, so these look right up my alley!

  2. Aww thanks so much! Wowza, ten is a lot. Good luck!!

  3. Those muffins look and sound awesome as do the veggies :) Perfect for winter!

  4. You were telling me about this in math! They look great!

  5. You were telling me about this in math! They look great!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

