Livin' in the Kitchen

Red Velvet Fudge and An Inspiring Movie

In Fudge on February 6, 2011 at 11:16 pm

Being sleep-deprived doesn’t effect me like it does most people. You’d think I’d be majorly cranky. Not want to talk. Or be plain out tired. I can only wish these were the symptoms. They’re not. When I don’t get enough sleep I turn into a major snack-er, unhealthy things become especially appealing. When I’m tired, I eat. Who knows? 

Yesterday I slept over at my friend Claire’s. This is a gal who can stay up until 3am and sleep until 11 and be totally fine the next day. Me? I’m lame. Bed time is almost always 10. Last night, though, we watched The Last Song until 2:30 in the morning. I still don’t know if I was crying about how sad the movie was or about the attractiveness of the guy that played Will who was shirtless more than half the time. Either way I’m pretty sure it was the best movie ever.

The movie inspired me. Who would have thought? A movie with Miley Cirus, inspiring? I’ve decided that I wanted to be buff. Seriously. But apparently invisioning yourself as buff doesn’t make you buff. You actually have to lift weights. We don’t have weights in my house- we have cookies and fudge- It was definately one of the shortest lived dreams I’ve ever had. I ended up getting over it, had some fudge, and played in the snow with Nicky. That’s exercise, right?

Boredome + an upcoming holiday with red + buttermilk that was living on its last leg in our fridge = Red Velvet Fudge. Who would have thought?! It was actually delicious and it’s been one of my many sleep-deprived snacks of the day! Our thermometer didn’t work so I just eyed the fudge and guesstimated when to take it off the stove - check out the recipe and exact instructions that include thermometer temps at i am baker. Overall the fudge was delcious, smooth, creamy, and not grainy at all! My family devoured it!

Red Velvet Fudge
From: i am baker.

2 cups sugar
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/2 sweetened condensed milk
3 tablespoons salted butter
1 tsp vanilla
Red food coloring (I used a darker shade of red then added a a few drops of brighter red)

Mix all the ingredients except the butter and vanilla in a mixer

Nick insisted on pouring everything in on his own, didn’t spill at all, then had to show it off:

Throw the ingredient into a pot on medium heart only to find out that your theremometer doesn’t work. Stir constantly until it boils for two minutes, reduce heat to low and allow it to simmer for about 5-7 minutes. DO NOT STIR WHILE ITS SIMMERING. Seriously.

Grab a big bowl – if you don’t have one that’s big enough use the sink- and fill it with water and ice cubes. Put the pan into the cold water and mix until the fudge becomes thick.

Now just pour into whatever container you like. Nick and I went through all my cake pans and he liked the big hearts the best. So the big hearts it was.

Then enjoy the pan!!

Happy almost Valentines Day!!

I want to know, leave a comment telling what your favorite valentines day treat is!?

  1. These valentines day treat look amazing! :) great good jess!

  2. These are so cute! I love how you made them into heart shapes! I have never heard of red velvet fudge…I bet it was delicious! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

