Livin' in the Kitchen

Sold Out Sugar Cookies

In Cookies, Uncategorized on November 28, 2010 at 2:26 am
Junior high to high school is a huge step. Let me tell you. The first few weeks I went to school I almost slipped into cartiac arrest looking at the rows of bake sale items outside the lunch room. But as the weeks wore on, my constant need for sweets wore out.

I noticed though, that every time I passed the bake sale tables and saw something cute or colorful, I’d twitch for that nonsexistant dollar in my pocket. I knew that I didn’t need any more sweets than I already had in my life, especially with a broken treadmill. But still, the cute things always got me!

My third period class and every other third period class in the high school are raising money for families for the holidays. Just about everyone is selling sweets for the bake sale and I decided that I needed a game plan. Yes a game plan. I decided that whatever I was going to make had to fall under these criteria:

Cute

Colorful

Yummy

Easy to Eat.

Sure these cookies required a lot of love and attention. But it’s like my assignment notebook. Even when I finish my Spanish homework in class, I have to write it in my assignment notebook anyway so that I can cross it off. What can I say? I like crossing things off lists, and if a few extra hours put into cookies meant I could cross more off of a list, why not?

I sold these for a dollar. GASP! A dollar?! Yes. One whole dollar for a bake sale item. My list must have worked because I came home with an empty basket and a lot of happy people who wanted to know what I was bringing next.

Thoughts: these were soft and had really nice frosting for two reasons: nice consistency to work with, and the saltier taste really complimented the sweet cookies! Everyone loved them. The color is what drew them in, but the taste is what got people to buy more. One guy bought four bags and one for his friend!

Tips: If you only have one tip and you want to swirl all of the cookies with that one color and then change colors, don’t. The frosting with dry sooner than you think. If you only have one tip, use it for the main color and put your other colors in ziplock baggies with one edge trimmed off. Do one cookie at a time. Then take a toothpick and run it from the edges to the center for a flowered look. For a webbed look, run a toothpick from the center to the edges.

Sugar Cookies

Recipe adapted from the Hungry Housewife

2 sticks butter, soft

1 cup sugar

1 egg

1 ½ teaspoons vanilla bean paste or vanilla extract

3 cups flour

1 ½ teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

Cream butter and sugar together

Beat in the eggs and vanilla

In a separate bowl sift together flour, baking powder, and salt

Add flour mixture to the butter mixture and slowly mix until combined

Divide dough into two separate balls, place between parchment paper, roll until desired thickness and put in fridge for 2 hours

Preheat oven to 350

Remove dough and cut to desired shape.

Bake cookies on an un greased cookie sheet and bake 8-12 minutes

Cool on sheet for 2 minutes before taking them off*

Cool completely before frosting

* – Do not miss this step

Now for the frosting… this definitely made more than I needed, even with decorations, and I loaded on the frosting. I’m not sure exactly how it would pan out, but I’d say you could get away with doubling the cookie recipe and using this frosting recipe as is to have the perfect amount of each.

Royal Icing Cookie Glaze

¾ warm water

5 tablespoons meringue powder

1 teaspoon cream of tarter

2 ¼ pounds of powdered sugar

~If the meringue powder doesn’t have vanilla flavor in it, you can add a teaspoon of clear vanilla. If you don’t have clear vanilla and don’t want an offset color, I’d just omit the vanilla completely. I did, and you couldn’t even tell the difference.

In mixer, pour in the warm water and meringue powder, whisk for 30 seconds until foamy

Add cream of tarter and whisk another 30 seconds

Pour in all of the powdered sugar, pulse until combined

Mix until thick and creamy. With this frosting, when in question, keep mixing!

Go decorate!! Any kind of food coloring should be fine, I used Americolor.

  1. Love these!! Wish I got to try one 😉

  2. hahahaha i bought one of those cookies they were AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  3. I want to bake some cookies so I can mush together a bunch of frosting!

  4. Mm, I love soft sugar cookies! These look so yummy.

Leave a Reply

