Livin' in the Kitchen

Celebrating with Birthday Cake Ice Cream

In Ice Cream on December 9, 2010 at 2:34 am

Yesterday I had the sniffles. My head was throbbing. And all I wanted to do was curl up in my covers, lie there, and drift off into my dreams. Instead, I found myself with the chills, layered in two sweatshirts, a hat, my skinny jeans, and mittens, in my assigned seat waiting to take my driver’s ed final exam.

My mind was chewing on four hours of studying, dealing with getting sick, and the obvious fact that if I didn’t pass this $500 dollar course, I could kiss driving goodbye. Permanently. Or until I could pay for the course by myself. Like I said, permanently.

Our teacher started handing back test grades and I’m fairly sure those few minutes took off a few years of my life. He announced to our class that one person had gotten an F. One person. Well nobody admitted to getting the F, and it would figure that mine was the last in the pile.

Slowly he handed my test back. I swear, my hands were going to shake right out of my mittens. There in my hand was not an F. My heart finally slowed to a healthy pace. My head stopped throbbing. The course was over. The very course where a friendly message had been written to us the first day of the class:Drivers Ed: the only course you will ever take where not doing well will kill you people!

At times I doubted I would pass. But I made it. And surprisingly, all of my sick-symptoms were gone by the time I woke up the next morning. I’m not sure if it was the stress or my unwillingness to admit I was sick that made it disappear, but the next morning I felt great. Leaving cause for celebration that I PASSED DRIVER’S ED!Thoughts: This was super delicious! I always eat out of the bowl when I make cake batter. Afterwards I always regret it because of the raw eggs. This is just like eating cake out of the bowl, except better, and completely guilt-free. I’m not well-rounded in the ice cream world but my dad said it tasted like Maggie Moo’s Ice Cream Cake flavor.

Tips: Don’t add sprinkles if you’re planning on only putting in a few because they won’t show up. I usually think that sprinkles throw off the texture, not in this!! Add to your heart’s desire!! Other than that, have fun!! Ice cream making is easy-peasy!

Birthday Cake Ice Cream

½ cup granulated sugar

½ box of yellow cake mix (yes, I said cake mix!! I found some in the back of my pantry. A miracle.

1 ½ cups heavy whipping cream

1 tsp vanilla extract

Sprinkle away to your heart’s desire!!

In a pan over medium heat, combine milk, sugar, and cake mix whisk to remove lumps.

Stir constantly until the mixture begins to bubble.
Take off heat and put directly into the fridge or a water bath (just fill a bowl with about 1/3 of water and ice, let the pan sit in it until cool completely)

When completely cooled, stir in heavy whipping cream and vanilla extract

Pour into ice cream maker and mix according to manufacturer’s directions

Add sprinkles in the last five minutes.

(If you like your ice cream soft-serve style, be prepared to serve right away. If not, place it in a freezer-safe bowl and freeze until desired texture.)

  1. yummmmm!!!!!
    i love birthday cake ice cream. it’s my very favorite.. what a perfect way to fix the sniffles lol

  2. is there any way to make this without using an ice cream maker? it sounds super delicious, but unfortunately, I don’t own an ice cream maker 😦

  3. Totally! Since this ice cream is more custard-based you can use a freezer-safe bowl or pan with tall edges. Do everything you would up until pouring it into the ice cream maker. Here you can pour it into your container, cover it with foil and put it in the freezer. After 30 minutes, when the edges are just hardening, stir vigorously with a whisk. Continue to stir vigorously about every 30 minutes for 3-4 hours. I’ve read about this method a few times, but haven’t tried it. Let me know how it works out for you!
    Jess : )

Leave a Reply

