Livin' in the Kitchen

Finally done with Finals!

In Frosting on January 14, 2011 at 6:52 am

All I can say is thank God finals are over. No baking four days? No reading for fun? No free time? No facebook? -Yes, I grounded myself from facebook for the week. The urge was too great so I had my mom make me a new password. No friends? No thanks.
Onto life after finals!

Mag, Liz, and I went to sushi…

love Sushi. Have you ever tried a California Roll with Eel Sauce? Delsih!! Plus, who doesn’t like an aesthetically appealing lunch?

      

Our dear Lizzie likes eating…. just not things she hasn’t tried before. How her mother ever got her to eat in the first place I have no idea. bribery by chocolate? But today, after finals, she agreed to go to sushi- something if I may point out doesn’t look a bit yellow or noodle-shaped! It’s a day to be remembered.

   

Overall though, sushi was a lot of fun! Don’t be fooled by the picture above. Liz may not have liked her own sushi but she was digging Mag’s Shrimp Tempera Roll. -She said it tasted like Rice Krispies. Hey! Whatever floats her boat.

After sushi we came back to my house and made a recipe from Sarabeth’s Bakery! We made Genoise in cupcake form… turns out Genoise is better off in a thin sheet and circular form. The “cupcake” had a really fresh vanilla bean taste to it, but the bulky texture didn’t work. Sometime I’ll make the recipe as is and see how it is! After finals, it was more about the relief of being in the kitchen than anything. And being there with my best friends made it that much better! 

                   The Batter

Mag and Liz both had to leave before they came out of the oven, but they turned out looking pretty nice!

  The frosting’s a Salted Caramel buttercream that I made and then had to hurry to write down because I liked it so much!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thoughts- This was awesome! It was creamy, salty, and had the perfect amount of caramel in it! I was starting to loose hope in caramel frostings because I could never find a perfect balance. This is it!

Tips- When you’re boiling your water and sugars together, make sure to do it for more than four minutes. You won’t burn it! It’s best to have the sugar melted to avoid grainy tastes.

   Salted Caramel Buttercream

3/4 cup of white sugar

Heaping 1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup water

1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons heavy whipping cream

 2 egg yolks

1 stick of salted butter

2 teaspoons of sea salt

About 2 cups of powdered sugar

In a saucepan on medium heat combine the sugars and water, stir together and continue stirring and checking for 6 minutes.

Separate eggs and put the egg yolks in a heat-proof bowl.

When sugar is completely melted, reduce to low heat and add heavy whipping cream. Stir for two minutes, then immediately add to your egg yolks and whisk until combined. Allow to cool completely.

*Don’t heat your butter. Leave it sitting outside of the fridge for 15 minutes, it’s better to mix it colder than warm or melty. *

Use the paddle attachment and the whip the butter and salt together until light.

Add the cooled caramel mixture to the butter mixture, and beat until completely combined.

Add about 2 cups of powdered sugar, it varies with desired consistency.

  1. I want a great big bowl of that frosting for breakfast!! It was THAT good!!

  2. There’s no better feeling than finishing finals 🙂 The salted caramel buttercream sounds amazing!

  3. Thanks for the kind words Jess. Great photo set. I love how all hands are on deck when you guys make cupcakes. =)

  4. Thanks for the kind words Jess! Great photo set. I love how all hands are on deck for cupcake making. =D

  5. Mmmm…I love sushi. My favorite are the spicy tuna rolls! Yummy! 🙂 I wish I had one of those cupcakes now…they look delicious! The salted carmel buttercream sounds amazing!

  6. […] cupcake looked pretty snazzy, I was even going to make my Salted Caramel Buttercream for the top. I couldn’t wait to try the filling, the excitement of possibly being a someday […]

Leave a Reply

