Livin' in the Kitchen

Reality T.V. and Avocado Cupcakes

In Flops on January 22, 2011 at 3:31 am

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to work in Jeff Lewis’s office? Well, I have. I’m a reality t.v. show junkie when it comes to Jeff Lewis’s office and the cooking channel.. Which is how my Thursday turned into a flop…

It seemed like a good idea at the time… That’s what I told my dad when he looked in the garbage and found 12 avocado cupcakes. My mom “almost choked on them”.  I thought it was “a waste of two very good-looking avocados”. And my brother had a conversation at his lunch table today about how I could be “a very successful baker if I started making less exotic things, like chocolate chip cookies”. Thanks for the advice guys. – You see, this is what happens when you take a reality show meant solely for the entertainment of those at home on their couches, to heart. Cough, cough, Cupcakes, cough, cough, Wars….

This is what I ended up with:

Sometimes, it’s best to just leave certain ingredients to what they’re meant to be. Not always. But sometimes. Doing things with avocados that vear too far from guacamole doesn’t seem to be an exception to the rule… So here lies the avocado cupcake, a flop in its short-lived glory.

The cupcake looked pretty snazzy, I was even going to make my Salted Caramel Buttercream for the top. I couldn’t wait to try the filling, the excitement of possibly being a someday Cupcake-Wars-Champion was too great to wait. The hope died fast.

Skills for Success, of course, had the answer to why I would do something so impractical. It’s a class that all freshman are required to take. You take a series of tests and a computer tells you what you should do with you life, while pointing out your flaws. Let’s just say, I laughed when I got my results. Instead of, oh I don’t know, being in the math room where I could actually get some help so I could continue to be successful; I was staring at a computer monitor that was giving me the results to my life: Apparently I’m too compulsive and I will never finish anything in my life. Seriously. Also, my passion is going to run out. No time frame, but according to the computer, it could go any day now.

Am I mad that I’m wasting my life in this class? You bet. But, you know what I think? I think that it’s more important to follow your heart than a set of computer results. Maybe making avocado cupcakes is a little compulsive, and maybe I like the idea of traveling and adventure. Does that mean I’m going to be unsuccessful and run out of passion? Uhm, I kind of doubt it.

Let’s pretend the computer’s right and this is all going to come true. If I do become a very unsuccessful person, I will end up an author, blogger, foodie, and cookbook writer… I’ll be accepting failure by denying my inner performer… whatever will I do?

Anyhow, I don’t consider making Avocado Cupcakes that flopped themselves into the garbage a waste of time. Having fun is not a waste of time, being compulsive is fun, and you don’t need a computer to map out what life “should” be.

  1. Oh my gosh…I cannot even imagine these cupcakes! This cracks me up! I have watched cupcake wars a few times and thought to myself, that flavor could not possibly be good! I bet these were great before the avocados were pipped into them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

