Livin' in the Kitchen

Shortbread Cookies and a Delicious Smoothie

In Cookies, Valentines Day on January 24, 2011 at 3:44 am

It’s been a pretty productive Sunday. In May, I’m running a 10K, but I’m going to train for a half marathon so that it’s easier when the race comes. Today was my first day of training, 3 miles. Then, sweaty and gross, I drove the truck to my little cousin’s birthday party. -We rushed cake and presents so that we’d make it back for the Bears vs. Packers game. Bears lost. Figures.

Onto different, less depressing news. Valentines day is coming up. It’s not that I don’t like Valentines day, I just don’t particularly enjoy it. A little angel with an arrow that shoots people making them fall in love just seems a little far-fetched… why not just get them a box of chocolates? Couples are cute, until they start trying to match eachother. Sorry guys, it’s just weird. But the one thing I’d change about Valentines day is the candies… You know? With the messages on them. They aren’t yummy. They taste like cornstarch. 

One of my favorite teachers once told me to change what I could and forget the rest. So I changed the little ‘message’ candies into cookie candies!

 I used Gale Gand’s Brown Sugar Shortbread recipe. I wasn’t sure if they were supposed to be really crumbly or if I did something wrong. It didn’t really matter anyway. I made up a frosting recipe, and I’ve discovered frosting has magic-cookie-fixing powers.

After making the frosting for the middle of the cookie (recipe below) and the topping (just white chocolate bark and white chocolate chips melted with butter in a double-boiler) I made a cookie-assembly line and turned on the Special Victims Unit marathon.

White Chocolate “Frosting”

By: Me!

1 stick of butter
3 cups of powdered sugar
2 blocks of white chocolate bark
2 teaspoons vanilla bean paste
2 tablespoons milk, may need a tad bit more

Combine the butter and powdered sugar, leave mixing
Melt the white chocolate bark, then pour into the powdered sugar mixture
Add the milk and vanilla bean paste
(This is going to be a lot thicker than your average frosting, but I kept it on the thicker-side for these cookies since it was exactly what I was going for! If I try this on a cake, I’ll probably try adding more milk and a little whipping cream to get it to a creamy-er consistancy.

Decorating was fun, I died the topping with food coloring, and added some luster dust to a few…

The process was fun, but long. I whipped myself up a smoothie and enjoyed it while I decorated like thirty something of these little things… My healthy kick is a kickin’, and having a smoothie actually helped me to kick my nasty habit of snacking on the dessert as I went.

 

All I did was add frozen blueberries- “power food”, peaches, spinach- believe it or not, also a “power food” and barely detectable in the smoothie-, I added a banana and a little pineapple in the blender, and… WHAMO! It was done speedy fast, really yummy, and healthy!

  1. Congrats on your first day of training! The first day is always the hardest! I love having a smoothie after a hard workout. I have never added spinach into mine though, I might have to try it. 🙂 These cookies look great! I love how shortbread cookies just melt in your mouth. Mmmm..yummy!

Leave a Reply

