Livin' in the Kitchen

Snap Crackle Pop Cookies

In Cookies on January 30, 2011 at 6:35 am

Rice Krispy cereal has never been my thing. To make it edible I always had to stir sugar into my milk and drown the cereal. Which is why the title of todays blog post has nothing to do with the cereal, it just sums up my weekend really well…

Today I went over to Liz’s house. (I might go to Michigan with them this summer!) I laughed for so long and so hard that I’m pretty sure my sides split. Is that unnatural? Here’s why:

Why yes, I broke her bed in a swift pop. It was falling apart as it was, the boards were breaking. But, if anyone’s self-esteem is especially low, I’d suggest staying away from questionable-looking-antique beds. However, after tonight, I’m a lot closer to a six-pack than before. I heard if you laugh for 24 hours straight you can get a six pack… half way there, we were cracking up all night. Aside from breaking the bed, I’m pretty sure I also managed to re-injure my right knee.

Her mom came up to find the bed broken and two girls rolling on the floor- this is not figurative, the matress hit the floor- laughing. I can’t say her mom was too happy. Neither was my knee. I think if a stranger were to walk into that room and find two teenage girls rolling on the floor with tears rolling down their eyes and heaves of laughter, they couldn’t help but laugh, too. Ok. Maybe not. But it was just so funny. We broke a bed.  

Here are the cookies that gave us the sugar-high to do so:

Yum.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies
(There was no credit to this recipe, found it in the cupboard)

(Preheat oven to 350F)

1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 stick butter
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
3/4 peanut butter
1 egg
1 tbsp milk
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup powdered sugar

Combine the dry ingredients minus the powdered sugar, don’t sift.

 Mix the wet ingredients, and only 1/4 cup peanut butter until completely incorporated.

 Combine the dry ingredients with the wet.

It’ll look like this, and taste a little mocha-y when it’s un-baked.

In another bowl, mix the remaining peanut butter plus 2 tablespoons peanut butter and the powdered sugar.

* Next step– Roll chocolate-looking mixture into a ball, press it down with your palm, put a LARGE ball of peanut butter in the middle and wrap the chocolate around it.

Take a bowl of water and a bowl of granulated sugar, dip the bottom of the glass in the water then into the sugar.

Use the sugared glass to flatten the balled cookies. You should push it down far enough so that the sides of the cookies are cracked.

It’s easy, fast, and you can just dig in. DON’T OVERBAKE THESE! I’d definately double the peanut butter-powdered sugar mixture next time. They are best warm! : )

 We used Jewel peanut butter for this recipe. Although, Jiff is my running favorite.

What’s your favorite kind of peanut butter?

  1. This is cracking me up! You broke a bed?! Hahaha….hopefully you did not hurt your knee too much! Ouch!
    I made these cookies about two months ago and I still dream about these cookies! They are amazing! 😉 Here is mine: http://sweetpeaskitchen.com/2010/11/09/chocolate-peanut-butter-surprise/

  2. Peanut Butter Co White Choc Peanut Butter is the BEST!

  3. This is hilarious but the cookies is the highlight!

Leave a Reply

