Livin' in the Kitchen

Monday no-bake cookies and Pretty Little Liars

In Cookies on February 8, 2011 at 12:14 am

Sunday night slipped into Monday morning while I re-wrote my English paper. Naturally this did not make me happy. Then again, neither did my first paper. Oh well, you have to do what you have to do. No worries, though. I mended my annoyance with highly caffineited black tea this morning. My tounge still has that frilly feeling after boiling water floods your tongue. I abruptant stops on the bus.

Anyway, when the tea’s affect finally kicked in, my day significantly brightened. My classes went by fairly fast which was great. My morning no longer looked so dull. Fabulous. And I didn’t have to go to Skills for Success today. Perfect. Yup, I’m considering drinking tea every morning.

This afternoon I got home and decided to throw my healthy kick a little and make some cookies. In my defense these cookies had peanut butter and oats in them. So I’m pretty sure they were semi-healthy… on second though, you don’t need a defense if you’re not guilty. And OH MAN were these cookies good.

The recipe is from The Food Network. I made it with a few adaptions to what we have in my kitchen! They’re no-bake chocolate peanut butter cookies. Delicious and the easiest cookies I’ve ever made. Don’t be fooled the unattractiveness of these cookies. They are AMAZING!

No- Bake Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies:

Combine 1 stick of butter, two cups of sugar, 4 tablespoons of cocoa, and 1/2 cup of skim milk together in a pan and bring to a boil at medium heat. Stir and allow to boil for one minute.

Reduce to low heat and add 1 cup of peanut butter. Stir until incorporated, turn heat off.

Add 1 teapsoon of vanilla, 3 cups of rolled oats, and 1 small single-serving sized oatmeal packet, stir and allow to cool down for a few minutes.

*Don’t worry, let the dough cool a little and it will harden up! When it does and it doesn’t completely scorch your hands to touch, roll the dough into balls and then flatten them into a cookie shape on a piece of parchement or wax paper. And you’re done! No baking involved! The boys absolutely LOVE THESE! Ryan, probably the most critical of my three brothers, didn’t wait for me to ask for a rating, he said these are a 10. I knew it was true when he took three more and told me that he kept telling himself that he should stop… these babies are close to gone and I made them three hours ago! We work fast.

Off to finish my homework so I can watch Pretty Little Liars!!

What’s your favorite unattractive food to eat?

  1. Love a non bake cookies!! Pretty.

Leave a Reply

