Livin' in the Kitchen

Unfashionably fashion-able and Red Velvet Cupcakes

In Uncategorized on February 11, 2011 at 3:33 am

Today was a fabulous day. It all started with this baby right here. Oh yes. Highly caffeinated black tea on the bus? I think so.

If you ever plan on transporting approximately a gazillion cupcakes via bus, I highly recommend having an entire cup of black tea beforehand. I’d rate my reflexes a solid A. We only went over a few minor bumps but I swear I would have gladly taken a trip to the chiropractor before I’d drop these on the bus floor. Seriously. Dropping them would have been altogether devastating and altogether more than my heart could handle. I’m no doctor but I’m pretty sure backs are easier to fix than hearts.

Making the cupcakes: These are actually really easy. Seriously. They couldn’t have been much easier. How, then, could I have forgotten the one thing basically everything has in it? Eggs. Uhm. Duh. Well that’s alright. I was in half panic mode that I’d be done at 6:30pm anyway. I don’t do too well with free time and a broken treadmill.

Which is why I whipped up another batch. Only this time I was so mad about forgetting the eggs, I doubled it. It’s hard to see in the picture, but I have a big mixer and I was unsure half the time it would all fit in! 

It’s a good thing I ended up doubling these because every single one sold at the bake sale. I’d say that’s a win. I got loads of compliments, too. I’m adding these to my favorite recipes.

 Red Velvet Cupcakes

Slightly adapted from Bakerella’s Red Velvet Cake

2 1/2 cups flour
2 cups sugar
2 tablespoons cocoa
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 eggs
1 cup oil
1/2 cup Motts cinnamon applesauce
1 cup buttermilk ~ if you have none just put three tablespoons + 1 teaspoon vinegar in a measuring cup, fill to top with milk, stir let set 5 minutes*
1 tablespoon vinegar
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla bean paste
Red food coloring – preferably the no-taste kind, too much red makes the cake bitter.

Preheat oven to 350F
Line with muffin tins
Stir together the wet ingredients, including the food coloring, in a medium-sized bowl
In a standard mixer, mix all the dry ingredients
While on slow, mix the wet ingredients into the dry, don’t over-mix.
Bake for 30 minutes

So easy. Yet I forgot the eggs. How I could have done that, I still don’t know.

This afternoon, since I am a professional treadmill breaker, I was forced to run in the freezing weather. And you know what? I loved it! No one was out and with all the snow it felt like I was running through a winter wonderland. Accompanied by my faithful ipod of a companion, it was great!

Only problem? I’m starting to realize that every time I go out to jog I wear an unattractive outfit. Every single time. I don’t dress with the intention of making the neighbors laugh. With a closet like mine, and a fashion-sense like mine, it just happens.

 Did I mention my awesome talent for posing? I’m considering modeling as a future career. Not.
Super exciting news! Tomorrow I’m helping Gale Gand, a famous pastry chef, with a cooking demo near us. I can’t wait. I’ll update soon!!

Off to watch some more cupcake wars. A show I will never try to base cupcakes off ever again. Ever.

  1. Yum, red velvet cupcaks are amazing for valentines day, the perfect tasty treat!

Leave a Reply

