Livin' in the Kitchen

Very-Vanilla-y Cupcakes

In Cupcakes, Vanilla on February 20, 2011 at 5:30 am

Lizzie and my realization of the week: The people of this generation who religiously straighten their hair (that’d be us) are going to be bald before they even see a nursing homes.  

In other news, today I made cupcakes! I’m trying out different cupcake recipes. Since I got the dates for the Gale Gand event I was going to help out with wrong, I’m making an I’m-sorry-please-forgive-me-and-accept-this-cupcake-because-sweets-make-everything-better cupcake. This was kind of a test-run, but who doesn’t like having a few extra cupcakes lying around in their house? I tried out a new cream cheese frosting recipe and didn’t like it at all, so I’m not going to include the recipe.

Vanilla Cupcakes

 Adapted from Miss lemonie

 

 

1 1/2 C plus 2 Tbsp all purpose flour

1/4 tsp kosher salt

1 1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 C butter at room temperature

1 C sugar

1 egg plus 2 egg whites

1/2 C milk

1/4 C– half sour cream, half greek-style yogurt

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 big teaspoon vanilla bean paste or 1 vanilla bean

Preheat oven to 350F
Combine the milk and vanilla bean paste over medium heat, remove from heat before it begins to simmer, allow to cool.

Sift the dry ingredients together

Combine the milk mixture with the sour cream, greek-style yogurt, and vanilla extract.

Combine the dry ingredients and the wet VERY SLOWLY AND JUST UNTIL COMBINED, if you whip them they will loose the fluffy texture that makes them so good!Use an ice-cream scooper to transfer into muffin tines. Bake about 23 minutes. It’s best to bake LESS than more. When you take them out of the pan, they might feel too soft. They’re not. Trust me.

Enjoy!!

(Sorry I haven’t posted in a while! I did my first Daring Baker’s challenge earlier!! Can’t wait to share!)

  1. These cupcakes look incredible! Yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

