Livin' in the Kitchen

Track and Brownies

In Brownies on March 5, 2011 at 3:38 am

Day One: -Warm up -4 miles -Ab work
Day Two: -Warm up -A mile and a half -4 100’s, a four minute break, 4 more 100’s
Day Three: -Warm up -Three Miles -Core Strength stretching
Day Four: -Warm up (Rain) -Cycling: 10 minutes at an intensity of 8 at 80-90 RPM, 30 minutes at an intensity of 10-12, cool down, stretching.

After track every night I’m ready to pass out. At seven.

Half way through making these brownies, I was about to pass out on my kitchen floor. But I wanted a nice snuggly bed. Instead, I settled for a chair and (since our freezer was lacking some ice) frozen crab for my sore muscles.

The tiredness doesn’t end on Fridays. That would be too easy. Tomorrow I will be on the track at exactly 7:00am. So I’ve got to write fast and get my tired butt in bed!

These brownies were pretty good, not my favorite but I liked how moist they were. I might use milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet next time. But paired with the frosting, it wasn’t my favorite.

Brownies
From: How Sweet it is

1 stick unsalted butter
3 squares baking chocolate
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
1 cup flour
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350

Melt the butter and bakers chocolate. In a standard mixer, mix the melted mixture with the sugar and vanilla until fluffy.

Add eggs, one at a time until combined. Then add flour until just mixed.

Fold in the chocolate chips then spread in a standard brownie pan. Bake for 35 minutes, don’t overbake!

If baking for the full time, it will continue to bake in the pan, so I put it in a bath of ice water to quicken the cooling process. Plus I was just plain out tired and had frosting to spread…

Frosting
Me
3 cups powdered sugar
5 tablespoons heavy whipping cream
2 tablespoons milk
3 1/2 tablespoons butter
1 1/2 teaspoons pepermint extract

Mix all ingredients together until light and fluffy!

Spread….

And enjoy….

I’m off to crash, happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

