Livin' in the Kitchen

Friendemies and Double Dessert Rolls

In Cake, Cookies, Uncategorized on March 10, 2011 at 2:49 am

Friendemy. It’s such a stupid word. It causes such distress to me that I don’t even know what to do with myself. Which is why when I thought about these cinnamon rolls and the first thing that came to mind was friendemy… I almost ripped my hair out.

 

You see, these are just so good. But they’re so bad. With every bite I feel every mile I ran at track wither. Wilt. Die. But they’re so good, I can’t stop eating them. Don’t be mistaken. This is clearly a guilt-post. I took one unhealthy thing and made it with another dessert…. two entire batches. I can’t stop eating them either. So, in other words, eat and enjoy!!

These are delicious. However, calling them cinnamon rolls gives the wrong impression. I’d call them dessert rolls. They’re delicious, and I’m particularly fond of  the cake “cinnamon” roll.

Cake Dessert Rolls
Slightly adapted by How Sweet it Is

2 cups whole milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup sugar
1 package dry yeast (or 2 1/4 teaspoons)
4 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 heaping cup of yellow cake mix
1 stick melted butter
cinnamon
sugar
sprinkles

Scald the milk, veggie oil, and sugar. Turn off heat, take off burner, and allow to sit about an hour or until just warm.
Sprinkle the yeast over the milk and let sit for about a minute then stir in 4 cups flour. Cover with wrap and allow to sit for another hour.
Mix in the powders and the remaining 1/2 cup of flour
Flour workspace and roll into a long rectangle, spread the butter over entire surface, spread generously with cinnamon and sugar, sprinkle with the cake mix and sprinkles.
Bake at 400F for about 16-25 minutes.

Cake Batter Glaze
Slightly adapted from How Sweet it is
1 cup powdered sugar
1/2 cup cake mix
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon heavy cream
2 tablespoons milk

Combine all, spread glaze over the top while the cinnamon rolls are still warm, spread sprinkles over the top generously.
Wa-la!!

(To make cookie-dough style cinnamon rolls, just make your favorite chocolate chip cookie dough and do everything the same. Instead of the cake mix, spread the un-baked dough over the top and roll then cut into desired sized cinnamon rolls. No glaze needed!)

Then bake…

You think these are your friends until you start eating them in place of dinner… and I promise, it’s not the scale that’s broken. Which is why I have no choice but to call them a friendemy.

  1. Jess! I’m so inspired that you’re blogging about your passion for food & baking at the fun age of 15! Keep up the great work! This recipe definitely worthy of the friendemy title!

Leave a Reply

