Livin' in the Kitchen

Enemy Acids

In Chicken on March 13, 2011 at 1:23 am

Sometimes I eat more sweets than actual food. What can I say? I live a sweet life. But by a burst of inspiration I decided to make a recipe from one of the cookbooks I checked out from school. A recipe that required no sugar.  Hold your gasps of shock for later on, they’ll be better served as bursts of laughter.

I made the sauce.

I squeezed a lime,

And added it to the pineapple mixture,

Then I spread the brown seasoned sauce from above, onto the chicken, sending it to the oven for a fairly quick broil.

Then, WA-LA! A pretty snazzy looking chicken dish, eh?!

This was appealing to the eyes and only the eyes. My first bite was my last. I always thought the day I could take one bite of food and be done would be victorious…. not quite. All it took was one bite of this baby and I slid into acidic-shock (a very severe and painful state for the tongue, lasting up to three days). 

The equivalance of this dish: licking an entire pineapple down to its core, eating two oranges, then sqeezing the juice of an entire lemon into your mouth. 
A pineapple, plus salt, plus an onion, plus an entire lime equals one big bad idea. This is a dish I would feed to my worst enemy. Now I need an enemy.

  1. Wow. I am amazed by your blog. I wish blogging was around when I was 15. You are making wonderful things. I will be incredible where you will head in the culinary world from here! Good luck!

  2. What a fun and delicious entry! I love both the fruit salsa and chicken…they are just perfect together.

  3. Oh, I can just imagine the taste. Sugar is so useful in cutting acid so, without it, it surely must have been one big sour-puss dish that made your mouth curl up like a pucker fish.

Leave a Reply

