Livin' in the Kitchen

Brownies, a Teacher Quote, and Tight Jeans

In Brownies on March 14, 2011 at 2:15 am

Teachers are selfless. Teachers set the stage for youth today. Teachers affect us in every way. You know when you get that one teacher that says something you’ll never forget? Well that teacher for me is my english teacher, March 11th 2011. Friday afternoon. I’d been interviewing him for the school newspaper and since the context of his quote wouldn’t quite fit into my article I’ve decided to share it here.
“Your jeans are a little tight on you.”
Rewind.
No he didn’t.
Oh yes, yes he did.
My options? A. Blame it on the dryer B. Explain this C. Shoot him your best did you honestly just imply that a teenage girl’s jeans are too tight look:

I went with A: Say that the pair of jeans went through the washer. When the closer answer was B: A bag of sugar that reaches my knees is almost gone after a month. When what I really really wanted to do was C: shoot him a, did you honestly just imply that a teenage girl’s jeans are too tight on her? look.
In his class tomorrow, I’ll be channeling the chef inside of me that would take that as a compliment.

In other news… I made brownies today! Since I started my blog, my Monthly Mixing Bowl page has been sitting there, untouched. Until now! Brownies is the first recipe I’m working on perfecting! Check it out!

Brownies
Slightly adapted from Kittencal’s Brownie Recipe, Recipezaar

10 1/2 tablespoons butter
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/4 cup water
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips, for melting
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips, for stiring
2 teaspoons vanilla bean paste
4 eggs
1 1/2 flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 325F.
1. Bring the butter, water, and sugar to a boil, continue to stir.
2. Take off heat and add 2 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips, then wisk in the vanilla bean paste.
3. In a separate bowl whisk the eggs, then add the chocolate/egg mixture slowly, while whisking.
4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet mixture, stir until just combined.
5. Stir in the last 2 cups of chocolate chips.
Cook for 25-35 minutes, don’t overcook!!

Steps made easy in pictures…

1.

2.

3.

4.

5. Mix in the chocolate chips. (I did half with chocolate chips and half without since my mom’s never been a fan of brownies with chocolate chips… she liked these with chocolate chips, figures.)

Evaluation:
These are absolutely amazing, I feel like I’ve already found a winner.
These are moist, they stay together really well, I used mini-chips in these so that the brownies wouldn’t have big hard chunks of chocolate chips
These were basically chocolate-y goodness.
Plus, they don’t harden like you think they would with all the chocolate chips!

Things to change:
Re-check how long to cook them.
Re-figure out what sized pans to cook them in (glass, metal, etc).
Count the amount of servings it makes.
Try making them with more mini chocolate chips.
Have people taste and rate them!
Figure out a way to make them without having them fall in the middle…

I got passed the appearence when I tried them. Usually I only like brownies right out of the oven, but these were awesome cooled, too!!

I’ll be working on perfecting these… because these babies are worth the tight jeans!

  1. Wow that is so inappropriate! You should have told him that it wasn’t his place to say! geesh.

  2. These look so chewy, gooey that I just want to rustle one up right now… sadly, I don’t have the ingredients but it has me thinking! Mmmmm

  3. Wow…I can’t believe a teacher would tell you that! So inappropriate! Those gooey brownies look amazing! Mmmm… 🙂

  4. That is soooo bizarre that he said that to you. Hmmm. You handled it very well. Hope your brownies were delish!

  5. Wow, how inapropriate! I’m not a teenager anymore and my jeans are as tight as yours… ;-P

    Those brownies must be delish! So droolworthy.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

Leave a Reply

