Livin' in the Kitchen

Not so Crackly Banana Cake Batter Cookies

In Cookies on March 27, 2011 at 11:26 pm

Is it possible to bake bitterness into cookies? I’m pretty sure it is: these are my proof. For break my dad and I were going to go to New York and go to a bunch of different bakeries- or at least I had this planned out in my head- until my parents made alternate plans for us and themselves. And these are the aftermath: I-Hate-Vegas-Cookies. My conclusion is that you can bake bitterness into cookies, and bitterness is something that will turn supposed-to-be-crackly-cookies into flat cookies.

Banana Cookies
1 package banana cake mix
2 eggs
1/3 canola oil

Combine all in a standard mixer.

Peanut butter insides
3/4 cup peanut butter
3/4 cup powdered sugar

Mix together with a standard mixer.

Now make a conga-line of your cookie dough, peanut butter filling, and a bowl of powdered sugar.

Take a ball of cookie dough and flatten it:

Put the peanut butter filling onto the cookie:

Fold the sides over and roll the cookie into a ball:

Then roll it in the powdered sugar:

Place it on the baking sheet:

Then press down lightly with a spoon or spatula (I’d say spatula– less dishes in the end!)

Put in the fridge until hardened, I did it for about 20 minutes then baked them.. Wa-La!

On my second-go-around I got a little more creative and used tape to separate the different cookies. I tried it with a plain peanut butter filling, a plain banana cake cookie rolled in powdered sugar, and the filling shown above (my favorite).

Of course I had to peal off the tape right before it went in the oven, but it was a great reminder of wich cookies where made with what.

  1. Jess you left a comment on an old post! Thanks. I figure they never get looked at anymore.

    So, you hate Vegas? I’ve never been. What’s bad about it? I hope the “I’m-bitter-I-hate-Vegas-cookies” turned out tasty at least!

    Laura

  2. Haha! I always read old posts!
    And, yeah, Vegas just happens to be where my parents will be while I’m home with my aunt so they turned into bitter-about-vegas cookies!

  3. I have been to Vegas once and decided then that it would be my last time. I love the idea of these cookies though, very playful!

  4. Those peanut butter filled cake batter cookies are right up my alley!

  5. You should get them to take you to Vegas! There is SO much good food there – plus, you can get brunch at the Bouchon Bakery and try some of their amazing pastries and bread. Hubert Keller also has a burger restaurant at Mandalay Bay that makes insane milkshakes.

  6. I’ve never seen banana cake mix! that’s amazing

  7. Vegas is fun! They a lot of great places to eat! My aunt lives out there so I’ve been quite a few times. These cookies sounds delicious!

  8. I’m filing this one away to make soon. Never thought of banana mix with peanut butter… now, if I can only get chocolate involved in this mix somehow.

Leave a Reply

