Livin' in the Kitchen

Track Meets and Crab Meats

In Sea Food on April 7, 2011 at 3:23 am

I haven’t been spending much time in the kitchen because I’ve been running. A lot. Until I feel like I’ll either die or my legs will fall off . I’ve actually debated on multiple occasions which would come first in the event that both of the above were to happen. I couldn’t decide.

In these pictures I’m the one in the front and I ended in fourth behind two girls from my high school. The montra that works best for me? ‘The faster you run, the sooner you’re done. Forget paw prints,  I want that on the back of my track t-shirt.

I never used to run. I actually hated it. But between last year and this year I’ve shaved about 2 minutes off of my mile time. So I decided that I may like baking, but why not try cooking a little more? It may not be my favorite thing to do, and running still isn’t my favorite thing to do, but maybe it could be good for me.

Super Duper Fast and Easy Crab Cakes
1/2 pound lump crab meat (I used immitation)
1/2 pound lobster meat (I used immitation)
10 Flatbread Crisps Sea Salt and Olive Oil (Can use any kind of crackers)
1 1/2 tablespoons mustard
2 tablespoons mayo
1 tablespoon olive oil
Salt and peper to your liking

Put all the ingredients plus the crackers (crushed) in a bowl and mix with your hands, form patties, put in a pan over a stove on medium-heat, allow the cakes to brown on each side.
*I used immitation crab meat and immitation lobster meat which both came in pieces a little bigger than I wanted for these, so I just chopped them down to a size that better-suited the sizes I wanted my patties to be.

Biting into it was definitely the best part..

These have made me believe that maybe cooking and I could co-exsist, and possibly even work together. It gives me hope that I won’t be that mom who has the chinese restaurant and pizza place on speed dial. These were so delicious, super easy, and actually they were fairly healthy!

  1. I love crab cakes! These look super delicious! Congrats on shaving off two minutes-that’s awesome. I know it sounds crazy, but I actually really like running. I ran my first marathon in November and now I am getting ready for a mini in May. I have a 9 miler to run tomorrow morning…hope the rain and thunderstorms hold off until the afternoon!

Leave a Reply

