Livin' in the Kitchen

Leftover Frosting Cookies and Variety

In Uncategorized on April 26, 2011 at 4:14 am

Endless breaths needed to breathe until my last day consumes me. The need to eat consumes me. The need to make dessert each and every day consumes me. Rolling in the Deep sung by Haley Reinhart consumes my room as I write this blog post. And track consumes my every-day life. I love it, but sometimes a girl needs a little variety. Which is why I love dessert so much; there’s always a basis: sugar, and from there, the possibilites are endless.

Frosting cookies. Need me to say that one more time? No problem, I felt the same way the first time I read of such thing.Frosting cookies.  Have left-over frosting? Like super-chewy cookies? Then frosting cookies are the ones for you. You can really make them however you feel. Any frosting, any flavor, go for it! You can really develope recipes into your own, and this is how I developed a vanilla frosting cooking into my own…

Frosting Cookies
I used the basis of this recipe
3-4 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1 entire lemon’s zest
1 cup cream cheese frosting
1/8 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 egg
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Preheat oven 350
Cream the frosting and sugar, add the rest of the ingredients — Just don’t overmix
Roll into balls as big as desired
Bake for about 12-15 minutes, or until done.

It’s that simple! Baking doesn’t have to be hard, or by a recipe. And it’s definitely awesome when you find something where you can use your left-overs. I almost always have a container filled with frosting in the fridge that either goes to waste or, if it’s really good, my mom will eat a spoonfull at a time of it until it’s gone. Having another thing to do with left-over frosting is awesome because I can keep it from going to waste, or worst, to my mom who never seems thankful for the delicious never-ending supply of extra frosting in our fridge.

  1. Oh! I love the idea of lemon and cheesecream…the cookies look delicious, light and full of flavor. Hope you are having a great week 🙂

  2. haha what a great way to use up leftover frostings! yay! enjoyed going through some of your posts….i think i might need to get sarabeth’s cookbook too!

  3. Glad you liked the PB topping!! It is a little bit insane. I am still thinking about it weeks later but I can’t justify making it again with all of this Easter candy hanging about the house. 😦

Leave a Reply

