Livin' in the Kitchen

Patience and Cake Pops

In Cake Pops on April 27, 2011 at 11:55 pm

Fishing takes time. This past Saturday, after a day of baking and rocking out to old cds, I headed out with my Dad and some of his friends, Ry, Chris, Kyle, and Nicky to smelt fish. Apparently at one point the waters flourished with these fish. Now, not so much. At the end of the day we had 10 fish (about the size of two fingers put together in a salute) and 9 people. It’s definitely a good thing that there weren’t a lot of these, afterall, I named one of my little friends Flipper.

We ended up eating brots and hot dogs in the back of Jimmy’s truck, waiting for more fish that didn’t come. The point? Things never turn out how you plan, always have a back-up plan. That became my modo over Easter weekend… When something doesn’t work, you make it work or you move on…

Every single time I make my favorite red velvet cake recipe (Bakerella.com) I forget the baking soda. The batter makes it into the pan without baking soda, every time. But no worries. I can fix it, right? So I throw into each pan what I thought was baking soda… but instead of putting in baking soda (which reacts with acids) I threw in baking powder. Some things just can’t be saved. This was one of them.

Then I made blueberry muffins from the cookbook Sarabeth’s Bakery. Oh yum! They were made with the juice of one orange and the zest of one orange, which was hard because all the oranges in the house were on their last legs. But in the end, you couldn’t tell. They tasted fabulous!

Since we were having brunch, we needed another muffin recipe. So I ended up making my standard lemon poppy seed muffins which were delicious! With all the craziness, I forgot to add the salt. Which really does bring out the flavors, so that was a little disappointing. But they came out beautifully and rose even more than usual. Maybe because the salt wasn’t in there to eat up any of the liquids?

Finally, the one thing I was most afraid of messing up, Cake Pops!! These things are the bomb. I’m officially convinced. In California, everywhere we went they posted the calories next to the food item on the menu. I was half-tempted one day before one of our conventions to get a Starbucks cake pop. Couldn’t do it. There were 180-190 in a bite of cake. Now I see why, you can stuff a whole lot-0-cake into one pop!

I was so thankful there were no calorie counts standing in front of my display of cake pops, because man-0-man, I couldn’t stop at one pop! They’re so much fun, and you can make them festive for anything.

Cake Pops
1 package confetti cake mix
2 cups frosting (Store bought or homemade. I did some homemade cream cheese frosting, Mmm!)
Semi-Sweet chocolate chips
Almond Bark
Sprinkles
lollipop Sticks
Styrofoam

Bake the cake as directed on the package, allow to completely cool.
Put the cake into a large bowl along with *frosting*, mix together with hands. (I don’t like the cake a completely smooshy mess, so what I did was mixed it just until it came together, but you could still have the texture of the cake.)
Roll the cake into balls about 1-2 inches, not huge, otherwise they won’t stay balanced on the end of your lollipop sticks.
Heat your semi-sweet chocolate chips directly over the stove on low heat, stir until completely melted.
Allow the chocolate to come to almost room-temp. before dipping your lollipop sticks in, smother top tips of the sticks, then stick them into your cake pops. Repeat. Once the chocolate has hardened enough to hold your cake pops up, stick the sticks upright into the styrofoam. Allow to chill in the fridge for about 3 hours or overnight.
Chop the almond bark and heat it over the stove on low-heat. Allow to come down to close-to room temperature, then dip cake pops in.
Hold the cake pops over the pot until the excess almond bark has dripped off, distribute the sprinkles over the pop before it becomes room temperature. Pop it back into the styrofoam and repeat.
Done!

Cream Cheese Frosting
Slightly adapted from this Recipezaar Recipe
1 8oz package cream cheese
1 stick butter
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 1/2 cups powdered sugar
dash of salt

Cream together the cream cheese, butter, and vanilla. Add the dash of salt and powdered sugar in slowly, scraping the bowl until completely incorporated.

I love cake pops and they’re delicious, really make sure you don’t smoosh them around with the frosting too much, though. Then they go from tasting like a deliciously moist treat, to a baby treat. Gross. I brought one to my friend in math class and she said it was one of the most moist, delicous cakes ever! These may take a lot of patience, just like to fish did, but in the end, it’s worth it!

