Livin' in the Kitchen

Giving into Gloria’s Lasagna

In Pasta on May 16, 2011 at 4:10 am

I’m hopelessly not-romantic. I mean, what am I supposed to do with a bunch of roses? Eat them? Bake them into rose-cookies? Whip up some rose frosting? Find some way to make a rose extract? I mean that’s so much work. If he actually liked me, he’d hand me rose extract.

Which is why when I was playing with my food, rolling up a piece of pasta, I realized I could see myself walking down the aisle with a bouquet of replicas, and I wasn’t surprised at all. And if I got nervous, I could snack on my $4 lasgana-noodle bouquet instead of a $35 manicure. The point is, food lightens every situtation. Even marriage.

Gloria’s Lasagna
Slightly adapted from Osteria
3 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 large yellow onion, finely diced
2 tablespoons minced garlic
1 pound ground sweet italian sausages
1 pound ground beef
1/2 cup white wine
Two 14-ounce cans diced tomatoes
2 teaspoons red pepper flakes
1 tablespoon chopped basil (recipe calls for fresh, but I had to use it from a container)
2 teaspoon chopped oregano (recipe calls for fresh, but I had to use it from a container)

Heat olive oil and throw in minced garlic and onions, stir and cook until softened
Put in the meat and cook until no longer red
Get rid of the fat in the pan then add the wine and cook until it’s cooked into the meat.
Add the tomatoes until warm, then add the pepper flakes, basil, oregano, and if desired, salt and pepper
Set aside.

Cheese Filling


1 pound ricotta cheese
1 large egg
1/2 cup Parmigiano cheese
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

Mix all together in a bowl, set aside.

Lasagna


1 pound lasagna sheets
Olive Oil
1 cup Parmigiano cheese
Bring water with salt and about 1/4 – 1/2 cup olive oil to a boil, add noodles,
Stir occasionally and only cook 8 minutes,
Strain and lay out on dish towels.

Layer: Meat, Pasta, Filling, Pasta…. Continue. If you end with pasta on top, make sure you use tin foil on top as you bake. Put it in the oven at 350F for 1 hr or until you see the meat bubbling.

…. I do.

  1. i like your mentality….def a noodle bouquet instead of an expensive manicure 😉 but then i dunno, you could change one day hahaha..

Leave a Reply

