Livin' in the Kitchen

Frank Lloyd Wright Dinner

In Culinary Experiences on May 26, 2011 at 5:35 am

Life is completely and totally nuts. 6 months ago I was sitting on the kitchen floor listening to country music, daydreaming while I was waiting for cakes to cool. I started baking seriously a few years ago after seeing Cake Boss and Ace of Cakes.
I fell into a routine: Bake the cake. Frost/Decorate the cake. Cut it. If people wanted one piece, I gave them two. Then I’d get to make another cake. But while the cakes were cooling and I was day dreaming, never once did I ever day dream that I’d be interning for Gale Gand, covering nuts in gold leaf at a Frank Lloyd Wright dinner 5 months later. I like to be a ‘realistic day dreamer’….. Like I said, life is nuts.

We made a huge array of things. A lot of the food was preped before we got there, so when we were at the Frank Lloyd Wright house it really wasn’t hecktic at all. I was a designated plater.

We made…

Serrano Ham, Manchego, Asparagus and Scallion grilled Cheese bites:

Roasted Baby Beet Salad with Citrus, Basil, Yarra Valley Feta and Arugula:

Seared Halibut with Spring Asparagus Sauce:

Trio of Lamb, Ras Al-Hanout dusted Chop, Muchroom crusted Loin and Braised Shortribs with a Minted Lemon Verbena Sauce and Morel, Ramp and Fingerling Potato Hash:

Buttermilk Panna Cotta with Spring Rhubarb, Tarragon and Rose Water Meringue
Chocolate Cake, Salted Caramel and Gilded Pecans

I learned a lot. But there are four things that will always stick with me from this dinner:  never leave fingerprints on plates, plating isn’t that hard if you don’t fear it, it’s all about the people you’re working with, and it’s about the people you’re making happy. Being in the kitchen just felt so right, and the content still rolls through my veins as I write this post.

I got to work with Gale,

Tim Scott- corporate executive chef for Macy’s, creates the recipes and menus.

 And Amy Dearth-

I couldn’t have asked for a better way to spend my Saturday night. I kind of wish it never ended.. the thing I’ve realized is that chefs are a little community. it’s a community I never plan on leaving.

  1. Jess, how awesome. I am so thrilled for you. I hope to visit your restaurant or bakery some day. Your Dad shared about your internship with Tony and me the other day. He is so proud of you. Keep on baking!

  2. Jess, Thank you for visiting my blog! I am so impressed with your intrepid cooking skills. And I bet your day with Gale Gand was amazing. I used to be a pastry chef, but you don’t have to make it your career path; it’s a wonderful way to be creative and artistic. I can see that is what you are already doing! Keep doing it.

Leave a Reply

