Livin' in the Kitchen

Banana Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

In Cupcakes on July 7, 2011 at 4:13 am

This past week I was in Michigan with Lizzie! Remember our former sushi-hater?

In MI we got to spend half a day in a little Amish town! Given 20 dollars, I was a little concerned I wouldn’t find anything I wanted more than baked Amish goods. Fortunately for my treadmill, I found a gorgeous pair of earrings that wiped out most of my funds. Unfortunately for Liz, I found pearl sprinkles that I just could not live without which she happily agreed to help me buy.

Some day when I actually earn money, I think instead of paying for a car, I’ll still be paying off all the scones, sprinkles, and Starbucks drinks that I just could not live without.  An Amish guy about our age rang up the sprinkles and I had to think: what do teenage Amish guys save for? Buggies?

The minute I got home (You think I’m kidding. I’m not.) I started baking. Four days without baking is four days too long.

Banana Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting
Recipe from recipezaar.com
1 1/2 cups bananas mashed, ripe
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
3 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup butter, softened
2 1/8 cups sugar
3 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 1/2 cups buttermilk

Preheat oven to 275F
Mash bananas (about 4 medium bananas) then stir in lemon juice.
In a medium bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
Cream the butter and sugar, when fluffy, add eggs one at a time, then add vanilla and stop mixing.
Slowly mix in flour mixture and buttermilk, alternating.
Stir in banana mixture, scoop into baking tins.
Bake for 45-60 minutes.

Cream Cheese Frosting
1/2 cup softed butter
1 (8oz) package cream cheese
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Cream the butter and cream cheese
Add the powdered sugar slowly, then cream.
Add vanilla, and cream again.
Frost, done!

Leave a Reply

