Livin' in the Kitchen

Cake-y Banana Cookies and Conquering Fears

In Cookies on July 17, 2011 at 7:12 pm

I sat next to a kitten, an animal I feared more than spiders, for a 6 hour car ride home from our cabin. I zip lined without being afraid of falling. I went to camp and met a girl who spoke from one of the purest hearts I’ve ever heard,  and we listened as she shared the hopelessly hard life she leads on the south side of Chicago. We all have fears and imperfections, take them away and you see who a person really is. Which is how I felt about these cake-y banana cookies. They weren’t true to their flavor with frosting, so why add it?

These are absolutely delicious and just like banana bread, only in cookie-form! They’re moist and soft, but still have the strong taste of banana bread. I even had one for breakfast with some eggs. Why not, right?

Banana Cake Cookies
Me
2 3/4 cups flour
1 cup butter (2 sticks), cut into small chunks
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon (heaping) baking soda
3/4 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 hard boiled eggs, peeled and diced finely
3 medium bananas

Preheat oven 350F
Use a food processor
Pulse together the flour and butter until the butter has formed small balls
Add the peeled bananas, sugars, vanilla extract, boiled eggs, salt and baking soda.
Pulse until everything just comes together, take out blade and fold the mixture together to make sure everything has been fully incorporated.
Line pans with parchment, use a tablespoon to scoop balls onto the sheets(they will still be very batter-y, this is how they should be!)
In middle of the oven, bake a pan for 15 minutes. No shorter, no longer!
*These won’t feel completely done when they come out, let them sit on the sheet trays until they’ve cooled!

These taste exactly like banana bread, but have that soft moist texture of banana cake. They’re like whoopie pies, only without the unappealing (I think) sponge texture that a lot of the recipes have. Now, whenever we have people over for easter or for brunch, I’ll make these! It’s amazing how much easier it is to serve a cookie than a piece of bread!

  1. OMGOMGOMGOMGOMG!!!! I went to covenant harbor with you last week! Do you remember meee? I just saw you had this on facebook, and I’ve got a cooking blog too! omg I wish I knew you did at camp then we couldve like bonded over that lol but I love yours!! okay, hopefully this doesn’t creep you out and you remember me 🙂 Tyler called me Amanda if that helps?

Leave a Reply

