Livin' in the Kitchen

Homemade Crackly Red Velvet Cookies

In Cookies on July 20, 2011 at 12:47 am

When I find a song I love I keep listening to it. Over, and over, and over again.
These cookies are like my favorite song obsessions, I just can’t get enough! The two differences?
a. Cookies have calories,
and
b. ‘Sweet Home Alabama’ has yet to make me feel like a fat fish.

Unlike song obsessions, truly good cookie obsessions never come to an end. Honestly, I could see myself replacing the original chocolate chip cookie with these. Now that’s a good cookie!

Red Velvet Cookies

1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1 teaspoon red food coloring
3/4 cup milk chocolate chips
1/2 cup white chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375.
Mix butter and sugars together.
Add the egg and beat for about a minute, add food coloring. (I was out of red, so I used this marroon-looking color and it worked fine!)
Add dry and mix until just incorrporated
Fold in chocolate chips.
Lay parchment paper over 2 cookie sheets.
Roll cookie dough, this should make around 16-20.
Bake 15 minutes, NO MORE, NO LESS! These will look crackly, and the insides will look like brownies not quite done. Trust me, once they cool off and you bite into them, you’ll know you took them out at the right time. Take the sheets of parchment paper off the trays immediately.

Enjoy!

  1. I’ve been looking for a red velvet cookie recipe that doesn’t use a cake mix for a long time. These look delicious – I love the crackly top!

  2. I have to agree with bittersweet above. It ain’t easy to find a recipe for RVC’s that doesn’t involve a mix. :S My Mom and I had them at a resturant/bakery today and I HAVE to make some at home. Thanks for having this on the web. 🙂

    • These were Fantastic! Made a big ol batch to give as Christmas gifts and will make more-soon. 🙂 Thanks so much for figuring this one out. Good Job!

Leave a Reply

