Livin' in the Kitchen

Bonfires and Perfect Pumpkin Pie

In Pie on October 10, 2011 at 10:53 pm

Fall and three day weekends are my favorite kinds of days. They mean bonfires and friends and pumpkin pie. I couldn’t get a picture of the entire fire because it was so frickin’ big, so you’ll have to use your imagination. But these are the fires that my dad prides himself on. These are the bonfires that bring back childhood. These are the fires that happen when the wind whistles and the leaves full of color blow.


It also happens to be the time when pumpkins grow and pies are made.

I love pumpkins.

And I love pie.

I guess that’s how, when everyone else had left for the night, Danielle and I found ourselves in the kitchen at 2am making a pumpkin pie, baking a pumpkin pie; then eating a pumpkin pie by our fall fire that had come down to be just an orange glow. I had high expectations for this pie.

After all, I am a pumpkin addict with only 3 cans in my pantry. I needed to make going down to two worth it.

It totally was. This pie is delicious. It’s custard-y, smooth, and fabulous cold or warm. Cool whip, ice cream, or whipped cream. Any way you want it, or even by itself it’s killer. I used to think that doing the recipe on the back of the can was the only way to go. It’s not. I’ll never go back.

Pumpkin Pie
allrecipes.com
1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin
1 (14 ounce) can EAGLE BRAND® Sweetened Condensed Milk
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 (9 inch) unbaked pie crust

Preheat 425F
Whisk together together all ingredients in a bowl.
Pour into unbaked pie crust.
Bake 15 minutes, turn over down to 350 and bake 35 minutes more or until toothpick comes out clean.

Enjoy the best pumpkin pie you’ve ever eaten : ) I guarantee it won’t let you down.

  1. Oh I so love pumpkin pie! Your crust looks so pretty with the leaves!

  2. I love the leaves around your pie, so pretty! I have to admit to loving pumpkins, but not pumpkin pie, not sure why, it just doesn’t do it for me :-/

    I love the top photo and the fire looks wonderful! Could have done with that here last night as it was freeeezing!!

  3. Pumpkin pie is definitely a fall favorite of mine! This sounds so delicious!

Leave a Reply

