Livin' in the Kitchen

Heals and Panna Cotta

In Daring Bakers Challenges, Panna Cotta on February 27, 2011 at 4:31 pm

My Personal Death Traps: Heals and Panna Cotta

Heals (winner by a landslide): I’m three times taller and six times more unpleasant. Some people just can’t multi-task. My friend can’t talk while she’s driving. London can’t chew gum while walking. And I can’t be pleasant while in heals.  

Panna Cotta: I’m an expert at short-lived inspiration. A few months ago I tried to make panna cotta, only it stayed liquid. I didn’t even take a picture. Which is why I was a not-too-happy-camper when I found out my first Daring Bakers Challenge would be Panna Cotta. 

Only this time it worked!! We made two things for the Daring Bakers Challenge,

Giada’s Vanilla Panna Cotta:

 
1 cup milk
1 tablespoon unflavored gelatin
3 cups whipping cream
1/3 cup honey
1 1/2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste (optional)
A pinch of salt

Put a medium-sized bowl in the fridge for a few minutes before you start.
Take the bowl out of the fridge and add milk into a bowl sprinkle the gelatin over it in a thin layer.

Let the milk and gelatine stand for 5 minutes.
Put the milk mixture on the stove and heat only until it’s hot, but not boiling. Stir a few times. (This stage takes about 5 minutes)
Next, add the remaining ingredients and continue to occasionally stir over heat.
Allow to cool while making your Fruit Gelee.

Strawberry Gelee
1 cup strawberries (or: raspberries, mango, blackberries, etc.. nothing too acidic.)
3 tablespoons water
1/4 granulated sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons unflavored powder gelatin

Sprinkle the gelatin over the water
Place fruit and sugar in a small saucepan and allow it to simmer, stir until sugar is dissolved.
Add the gelatin to the saucepan
Allow to cool, then add to the bottom of the glasses you plan to use for the panna cotta. Allow to sit a few minutes before adding the Panna Cotta.
Once both the fruit gelee and panna cotta have been added to the glass, refrigerate 6 hours or overnight.

Next thing we needed to make was Nestle Florentine Cookies. It was cool to try these, but they I won’t make them again. They definitely weren’t my family’s favorite.

Overall my first Daring Baker’s challenge was a success!! I’ve conquered Panna Cotta and it’s no longer on my Death Traps list- the last thing keeping the list from going out of exsistance, heals. 

  1. Oh, you’re a better woman then I am. I couldn’t pull off heels or a panna cotta. I’m lucky I can even figure out what is terra cotta. LOL

  2. Nice job on your first Daring Bakers challenge…it looks great! 🙂

  3. Welcome to DB and I love your stylish glass and the pannacota.

  4. YAY! I’m soooo glad you gave me this link Jess! You’re so fabulous! You now have a brand new fan! See ya at track 🙂

Leave a comment